STANDARDS COMMITTEE

WEDNESDAY, 17 JUNE 2009

DECISIONS

Set out below is a summary of the decisions taken at the meeting of the Standards Committee held on Wednesday, 17 June 2009. The wording used does not necessarily reflect the actual wording that will appear in the minutes.

If you have any queries about any matters referred to in this decision sheet please contact Holly Adams.

- 1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF STANDARDS COMMITTEE 2009/10
 It was RESOLVED that Mrs KM English be elected as Standards Committee
 Chairman for 2009-10.
- 2. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF STANDARDS COMMITTEE 2009/10 It was RESOLVED that Mr AC Hampton be appointed Standards Committee Vice-Chairman 2009/10.
- 3. ESTABLISHMENT OF STANDARDS COMMITTEE PANELS UNDER THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE (ENGLAND) REGULATIONS 2008

Assessment Panel

Having taken into account members' expressed preferences, and wanting to ensure that fair and balanced panels could be established, with substitute members who could serve in the event of a conflict of interests, the Committee **RESOLVED** that the following panels be appointed for 2009/10:

Assessment Paner	<u>_</u>	
Members	Type	Party (District Council
Mrs SJO Doggett	District Council Member	Members Only) SCDC Independent Group
M Farrar R Hall AC Hampton EM Revell Substitutes	Parish Council Member District Council Member Independent Member Independent Member	Conservative
RF Bryant Ms GJ Butcher Mrs KM English DC Kelleway Mrs JE Lockwood CF Tomsett	Parish Council Member Independent Member Independent Member Parish Council Member District Council Member Parish Council Member	Liberal Democrat
Hearings Panel Members	Туре	Party (District Council Members Only)
Ms GJ Butcher Mrs KM English Mrs JE Lockwood Mrs CAED Murfitt CF Tomsett Substitutes	Independent Member Independent Member District Council Member District Council Member Parish Council Member	Liberal Democrat Independent (non-group)
Mrs SJO Doggett	District Council Member	SCDC Independent

		Group
M Farrar	Parish Council Member	•
R Hall	District Council Member	Conservative
AC Hampton	Independent Member	
JL House	Independent Member	
AG Orgee	District Council Member	Conservative
A Riley	District Council Member	SCDC Independent
		Group

Review Panel		
Members	Туре	Party (District Council Members Only)
RF Bryant	Parish Council Member	
NN Cathcart	District Council Member	Labour (non-group)
JL House	Independent Member	
Dr SEK van de Ven	District Council Member	Liberal Democrat
JG Williams	Independent Member	
Substitutes		
DC Kelleway	Parish Council Member	
AG Orgee	District Council Member	Conservative
Mrs MS Pilfold-Allan	Independent Member	
CF Tomsett	Parish Council Member	

4. FURTHER PROVISIONS REGULATIONS 2009: SUSPENSION OF STANDARDS COMMITTEE FUNCTIONS, ESTABLISHMENT OF JOINT STANDARDS COMMITTEES. DISPENSATIONS

The Standards Committee **AGREED** that officers consult with neighbouring authorities to seek views on informal sharing of resources.

The 2009 Regulations in respect of the provisions for the suspension of initial assessment functions and the new provisions for dispensations were **NOTED**.

5. COTON PARISH COUNCIL: REQUESTS FOR DISPENSATIONS

The Standards Committee **AGREED** to grant dispensations for four years or until the conclusion of the individual member's term in office, whichever was soonest, to Coton Parish Councillors Mrs Rosemary Darling, Mrs Michaela Edwards, Geoff Diplock, Mrs Dawn McLoughlin, Mrs Wendy Sadler, Mrs Beryl Smart, Alan Storkey and Dr Chris Thorne.

6. ELTISLEY PARISH COUNCIL: REQUESTS FOR DISPENSATIONS

The Standards Committee **AGREED** to grant dispensations for four years or until the conclusion of the individual member's term in office, whichever was soonest, to Eltisley Parish Councillors Mike Cropley, Charlotte Freeman, David Lee, Martin Lines, John Pettifor, Roger Pinner and Daphne Spink in respect of issues concerning the Eltisley Village Green Trust and the Allotments for the Labouring Poor.

The Standards Committee **AGREED** to grant dispensations for four years or until the conclusion of the individual member's term in office, whichever was soonest, to Eltisley Parish Councillors Mike Cropley, David Lee, John Pettifor, Roger Pinner and Daphne Spink in respect of issues concerning Caxton End, Eltisley.

7. STANDARDS COMMITTEE WORK PROGRAMME: REVIEW OF 2008/09 AND KPIS FOR 2009/10

The Standards Committee NOTED the 2008/09 work programme and AGREED the

draft 2009/10 work programme, subject to addition of establishment of a Parish Liaison Working Group, which committee members would be invited to join.

Inclusion of items 14 and 15 on the draft 2009/10 work programme, Working with Council officers and Local Standards Committee Forum, was **DEFERRED** until the September 2009 meeting.